Interesting Things: 15/09/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Socialism Chic — The Hot Fashion of Young Ignoramuses Stereotypes Are Often Harmful, and Accurate A Labour MP who won’t let Theresa May beat her on authoritarianism Yes Mr Jones, this is how democracy works Why students *heart* Stalin A Better Theory of the Human Soul Age is noContinue reading “Interesting Things: 15/09/2018”

Interesting Things: 11/09/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Killing the Planning System Will Indeed Save the High Street When Censorship Is Crowdsourced Can we reform our rancid political debate? Even High Street retailers don’t think there should be an Amazon tax Feels of Steel Serena Williams has set back the cause of women’s equality See something, say nothing,Continue reading “Interesting Things: 11/09/2018”

Interesting Things 01/09/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Of course we don’t know what the AI algorithms do, that’s the point of using them Diversity Quotas Kill Comedy Why can’t people in the UK access the website of the Arizona Daily Star? Why is a BBC executive calling for the removal of middle-aged white men from television? Why we needContinue reading “Interesting Things 01/09/2018”

How Computers Became Ubiquitous

Fumigate Sockdrawer became the world’s foremost computer scientists at an unusually young age. He developed one of the leading software programs that became essential for every computer in the home or workplace in the early years of the internet. Sockdrawer was also instrumental in the growth of the internet from a hobbyist pastime to theContinue reading “How Computers Became Ubiquitous”

Book Links 23/08/2018

A miscellany of recent book related links:   Review – The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin http://www.bloominbrilliantbooks.com/authors-s-to-u/review-the-vanishing-by-sophia-tobin/ Why You Need to Read ‘Only Love Can Break Your Heart’ IMMEDIATELY // A Review https://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2018/08/14/why-you-need-to-read-only-love-can-break-your-heart-immediately-a-review/ Meet Ramsey Campbell ‘Britain’s Most Respected Living Horror Writer’ http://www.lounge-books.com/award-winners-we-lov/ramsey-campbell-horror-author-interview 50 Must-Read Erotic Fiction Novels, Anthologies, And More https://bookriot.com/2018/08/16/best-erotic-fiction/ Making a Literary ClockContinue reading “Book Links 23/08/2018”

Interesting Things 21/08/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Chatbot http://dilbert.com/strip/2018-08-19 Is Political Correctness Killing Entertainment? https://www.intellectualtakeout.org/article/political-correctness-killing-entertainment Quote of the day…on the sugar tax http://theviewfromcullingworth.blogspot.com/2018/08/quote-of-dayon-sugar-tax.html Samizdata quote of the day https://www.samizdata.net/2018/08/samizdata-quote-of-the-day-1098/ Norms of Good Governance: Where Do They Come From? https://quillette.com/2018/08/17/norms-of-good-governance-where-do-they-come-from/ The New McCarthyism: Blacklisting in Academia https://quillette.com/2018/08/17/the-new-mccarthyism-blacklisting-in-academia/ The NHS as an elegant exposition of the failure ofContinue reading “Interesting Things 21/08/2018”

Interesting Things 18/08/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: No, an Invitation to Debate Isn’t a Catcall http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/no-an-invitation-to-debate-isnt-a-catcall/21695 Consumers will pick up the bill for an ‘Amazon tax’ on innovation https://capx.co/consumers-will-pick-up-the-bill-for-an-amazon-tax-on-innovation/ Je Suis Boris https://telgroup.wordpress.com/2018/08/13/je-suis-boris/ If Straights Can’t Play Gays, Does That Mean Gays Can’t Play Straights? http://www.continentaltelegraph.com/sex/if-straights-cant-play-gays-does-that-mean-gays-cant-play-straights/ Skyfall – 12 Aug 2018 – Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/geoff-moore/43991009211 30 AlbumContinue reading “Interesting Things 18/08/2018”

Book Links 15/08/18

A miscellany of recent book related links: Supernatural Enemies of the Writer http://myjetpack.tumblr.com/post/176916015070/for-the-guardian Millennial Reading Habits Have Changed the Definition of a Classic, and Other Lazy Writing https://the-digital-reader.com/2018/08/13/millennial-reading-habits-have-changed-the-definition-of-a-classic-and-other-lazy-writing/ The Presence http://www.goodshowsir.co.uk/?p=14091 Back-to-School Reading for Adults: The Best New Nonfiction https://www.goodreads.com/blog/show/1355-back-to-school-reading-for-adults-the-best-new-nonfiction Buy More Books Than You Ever Read? The Japanese Have a Word for That https://bigthink.com/21st-century-spirituality/buy-more-books-than-you-ever-read-the-japanese-have-a-word-for-thatContinue reading “Book Links 15/08/18”

Interesting Things 14/08/18

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Do Britain’s Muslims Have a Right Not to be Offended? https://quillette.com/2018/08/11/do-britains-muslims-have-a-right-not-to-be-offended/ Boris And The Burka – To Be British Is To Take The Piss Out Of Everything http://www.continentaltelegraph.com/culture/boris-and-the-burka-to-be-british-is-to-take-the-piss-out-of-everything/ Rowan Atkinson hits the nail on the head yet again https://www.samizdata.net/2018/08/rowan-atkinson-hits-the-nail-on-the-head-yet-again/ Phil Hammond’s misunderstanding the rates problem and Amazon https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/phil-hammonds-misunderstanding-the-rates-problem-and-amazon?format=amp SamContinue reading “Interesting Things 14/08/18”

Interesting Things 11/08/2018

A miscellany of recent interesting links: Boys lead the way https://www.samizdata.net/2018/08/boys-lead-the-way/ Economic Myths #10 – Taxes Benefit “Us” https://misesuk.org/2018/08/08/economic-myths-10-taxes-benefit-us/ A Stoic Response to Beauty https://dailystoic.com/a-stoic-response-to-beauty/ Moral Panic, Then and Now https://quillette.com/2018/08/08/moral-panic-then-and-now/ Why the Left Is So Afraid of Jordan Peterson https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2018/08/why-the-left-is-so-afraid-of-jordan-peterson/567110/ I may consult you later https://jandbvwebster.wordpress.com/2018/08/10/i-may-consult-you-later/  

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started